Announcing the Judges for Jersey's First TechAwards

Posted: 06/09/2018

The Judges for the inaugural Jersey TechAwards, being held at a new awards ceremony on 18th October 2018 as part of Jersey TechWeek, have today been confirmed.

Organised by Digital Jersey, in association with BCS Jersey, the Jersey TechAwards, will showcase the achievements of the best in the industry.

Tony Moretta, CEO of Digital Jersey, said ‘The Jersey TechAwards are about celebrating the achievements of our growing digital industry. It is a sign of the increasing recognition of this sector that such a broad range of organisations are supporting the event and I am very grateful for that support for this and all the other events in Jersey’s first TechWeek.’

David Cartwright, BCS Jersey, explained ‘I’m delighted that we have a judging panel with such a diverse skillset – including some faces from outside Jersey. It’s particularly pleasing to bring in Max Cooter and Martin Banks: Martin brings unparalleled experience and ferocious impartiality from his years in the business IT press, while Max – aside from founding UK technology titles such as Network Week and Techworld – has over 20 years’ experience of tech awards, including spells as chief judge for the UK Networking Industry Awards and the UK Cloud Awards. Each of the panel will judge a number of different categories and the guidelines to the judges ensure a fair, balanced, unbiased approach. Each category will be judged independently by several people and anyone with a conflict of interest in any category will simply not judge that award.’

The judges are:

David Cartwright, BCS Jersey Committee Member
Tony Moretta, CEO, Digital Jersey
Joseph Dignan, Special Adviser, Digital Jersey
Stephanie Peat, Director of Digital Policy, SoJ
Jason Laity, Chairman, KPMG
Rod Bryans, Former Education Minister, SoJ
Rob Felton, Management Consultant, Mason Breese
Matt Thomasson, Head of Delivery for Transformation, RBSI
Max Cooter, Freelance Writer and previous launch editor at Techworld
Martin Banks, UK Technology Journalist

The awards categories are:

• Digital Company of the Year
• Best use of Technology in Education
• Technology Project of the Year
• Technology Student of the Year
• Technology Teacher of the Year
• Digital Start-Up of the Year
• Digital Creative Project of the Year
• Digital Growth Business of the Year
• Digital Leader of the Year
• Digital Team of the Year

You can nominate individuals and companies for an award here. Entries must be received no later than Friday 14th September, 2018.

Share this